University of Otago Robert Burns Fellowship:

The Burns Fellowship has been awarded annually since 1959. The names listed below are those winners of the Fellowship whose writing includes some theatre work. In some cases, they are best known in other literary fields.

1966- 1967: James K. Baxter
1974: Hone Tuwhare
1975: Witi Ihimaera
1977 - 1978: Roger Hall
1983: Rawiri Paratene
1986: Cilla McQueen
1987: Robert Lord
1989: Ren�e
1993: Stuart Hoar
1994: Christine Johnston
1996: Bernadette Hall
1999: Paula Boock (six months residency)
2001: Jo Randerson
2011: Fiona Farrell
2016: Victor Rodger

Albert Belz (2022)

Ursula Bethell Residency in Creative Writing (formerly Canterbury University Writer in Residence) Open to writers in the fields of creative writing: fiction, drama and poetry. Theatre-related winners:

1988: Brian McNeill
1990: Mervyn Thompson
1991: Bernadette Hall
1992: Fiona Farrell-Poole
1993: Sue McCauley
1995: Michaelanne Forster
1996: Hone Kouka
1998: Alan Brunton
1999: Norman Bilbrough
2000: Stuart Hoar
2002: Apirana Taylor
2006: Carl Nixon
2007: Philip Norman

Victoria University Writers' Fellow - theatre-related winners:

1998: Lorae Parry
1999: Barbara Else
2003: Briar Grace-Smith
2006: Bernadette Hall
2007: Dave Armstrong

Waikato University Writer-in-Residence - theatre-related winners:

1992: Maurice Shadbolt
1995: Ren�e
2006: Peter Wells

Auckland University Literary Fellowship - theatre-related winners:

1991: Stuart Hoar
1992: Hone Tuwhare
1995: Peter Wells
2000: Fiona Samuel

2002: Stephanie Johnson

Adam NZ Play Award (formerly the Playmarket New Play Award
Information, including full lists of winners in all categories, and runners up.

Best Play winners

2018: Shane Bosher (Everything After)
2017: D.F. Mamea (Still Life With Chickens)
2016: Maraea Rakuraku (Tan-knee)
2015: Anders Falstie-Jensen (Centrepoint) AND Hone Kouka (Bless the Child
2014: Elizabeth Easther (Seed)
2014: Runner-up Pip Hall (Mule) and Nancy Brunning (Hikoi
2013: Philip Braithwaite (The Mercy Clause)
2013: Runner-up Paul Baker(The Night Visitors)
2013: Best Play by a Pasifika Playwright David Mamea (Goodbye My Feleni)
2013: Best Play by a Maori Playwright Renae Maihi (Patua)
2012: Mitch Tawhi Thomas(Hui)
2011: Arun Subramaniam (Hero)
2010: Stuart Hoar (Pasefika)
2010: Best Play by a Maori Playwright Whiti Hereaka (Te Kaupoi)
2009: Pip Hall (The 53rd Victim)
2008: Ninna Tersman (Fucking Parasites)

Arts Foundation of New Zealand Laureate Awards

The Laureate Awards are one of New Zealands largest cash awards, and the only private award covering all art forms. Annually, five exceptional New Zealand artists are awarded $50,000 each in recognition of their artistic achievements and as a challenge to continue working at high levels.
The winners listed below are those whose work has a connection with theatre, opera or dance in NZ:

2000: Briar Grace-Smith (playwright)
2000: Douglas Wright (choreographer)
2002: Shona McCullagh (dancer, filmmaker)
2002: Don McGlashan (musician)
2002: Jacob Rajan (playwright and performer)
2003: Michael Hurst (writer, actor, director)
2005: Neil Ieremia (choreographer)
2005: Simon O'Neill (opera singer)
2006: Oscar Kightley (writer, actor, director, broadcaster)
2007: Sarah-Jayne Howard (dancer)
2007: Colin McColl (theatre director)

Arts Foundation of New Zealand Icon Artists - drawn from a longer list, the following are theatre-related winners:

2003: Russell Kerr (choreographer)
2003: Ralph Hotere (visual artist)
2003: Sir Donald McIntyre (opera singer)
2003: Hone Tuwhare (poet)
2005: Donald Munro (opera)
2005: Alexander Grant (ballet dancer)
2007: Dr Raymond Boyce (theatre designer)
2007: Don Selwyn (actor & director)

Arts Foundation of New Zealand New Generation Awards - theatre-related winners:

2006: Taika Waititi (artist, actor, writer, director)

A W Reed Award for Contribution to New Zealand Literature - theatre-related winners:

2004: Maurice Shadbolt

Bank of New Zealand Katherine Mansfield Short Story Awards - theatre-related winners:

1965: Maurice Shadbolt
1969: Maurice Shadbolt
1979: Jennifer Compton
1981: Vincent O'Sullivan
1995: Maurice Shadbolt
2007: Carl Nixon

Buddle Findlay Sargeson Fellowship - theatre-related winners:

2001: Vivienne Plumb
2003: Toa Fraser
2005: Fiona Samuel
2005: Peter Cox

Creative New Zealand Michael King Writers' Fellowship - theatre-related winners:

2004: Vincent O'Sullivan

Department of Conservation Wild Creations Artists in Residence Programme - theatre-related winners:

2003: Jo Randerson

Esther Glen Award (for children's literature) - theatre-related winners:

1994: Paula Boock
1998: David Hill
2003: David Hill

New Zealand Post Mansfield Prize - theatre-related winners:

1973: James McNeish
1983: Allen Curnow
1984: Rowley Habib
1993: Witi Ihimaera
1994: Vincent O'Sullivan
1995: Fiona Farrell
1997: Roger Hall
1998: Maurice Shadbolt
2000: Stephanie Johnson
2007: Stuart Hoar

For full listings of all award winners in all categories, see: NZ Literary Award Winners

University of Otago